Recently elected to represent their companies on the International Refrigerated Transportation Association (IRTA) board of directors were Kenny D'Silva, New York NY; Bob Gaffney, Port Authority of New York and New Jersey, Port Newark NJ; Brenda Goble, ICS Logistics, Jacksonville FL; Andy Janson, Hanson Logistics, St Joseph MI; Chris Kozak, Willis Shaw Express, Elm Springs AR; M K Wong, OOCL, San Ramon CA; and Paul Zottoli, MSC, New York NY.

Peter J Vroom, president and chief executive officer of the Truck Renting and Leasing Association (TRALA), was named the 13th recipient of the Bob Halladay Award at this year's Trucking Association Executives Council (TAEC) annual conference in Stowe VT. The award goes to an individual who has made outstanding contributions in assisting and supporting state trucking associations.

The American Transportation Research Institute has appointed three new members to its board of directors: Chris Lofgren, president and chief executive officer, Schneider National Inc; Tim Solso, chairman and CEO, Cummins Inc; and Steve Williams, chairman and CEO, Maverick Transportation Inc.

The Transportation Lawyers Association (TLA) elected new officers recently, and the new president is Greg E Summy of Norfolk Southern Corp in Norfolk VA/Other new officers are President-Elect Donald J Vogel of Scopelitis, Garvin, Light & Hanson in Chicago IL; First Vice-President Eric L Zalud of Benesch, Friedlander, Coplan & Aronoff in Cleveland OH; Second Vice-President Gordon D McAuley of Hanson, Bridgett, Marcus, Vlahos & Rudy in San Francisco CA; Secretary/Treasurer Sam Hallman of Strasburger & Price LLP in Dallas TX; and Immediate Past President Brian J Smith of Truckers Express Inc in Missoula MT.